IACA Bryan Hill Scholarship Award Nomination

Bryan Hill was a long-time member of the International Association of Crime Analysts (IACA) and the Arizona Association of Crime Analysts (AACA) and also served on the board of the AACA. Bryan was a respected crime analyst who made many positive contributions to our profession. The influence of his work will live on in the Fundamentals of Crime Mapping, Second Edition, textbook Bryan coauthored with Dr. Rebecca Paynich. Bryan was always willing to share his considerable knowledge and expertise and was also a major contributor to the IACA and LEANALYST lists. His responses to those of us who had questions about everything from crime mapping to how to write complex formulas in Excel were known not only for their helpful information and instructions, but often for Bryan’s legendary and self-deprecating humor as well.

The Bryan Hill Memorial Scholarship Award was created to recognize an individual who embodies the same “Spirit of Service” for which Bryan was well known. Individuals nominated for this award MUST be a current IACA member. This is a great way to recognize a member who has contributed to the professional success of another, or many, by sharing knowledge, examples, and/or time freely and selflessly.

The Award

The winner of the Bryan Hill Memorial Scholarship will receive an award or plaque and a scholarship covering the cost to attend the IACA Conference the following year (2024), including return airfare, 5 nights hotel accommodation, and conference registration fee.


Submission period

May 15 to June 14, 2023 at 11:59 pm CST.

Who is eligible

A current IACA Member who in the past calendar year (2022):

  • Has provided answers, ideas, examples, knowledge, and time to other members who have posed questions or sought out information or help from the members of IACA.
  • Has done such acts on a regular basis and independent of any position (volunteer or paid) that would require him/her to do so (such as training a volunteer or intern for a job, or as a member of the Mentor/Mentee program).

Who can submit

IACA Members can self-submit or nominate another IACA member.

Number of Awards

One (1) award.

Entry limitations

All persons holding an IACA Executive Board or Awards and Recognition Committee position are ineligible to receive this award.

Entry Requirements

Submit an application. 

Award Conditions

The recipient does NOT need to be present at the 2023 IACA Training conference to be eligible.


Winner will be announced at the IACA Annual Conference luncheon. 


The Awards Committee reserves the right to disqualify any entry that does not meet the requirements above.

A confirmation email will be sent at the time of submission. A copy can also be found in the member Profile under Message History.

If you have questions or concerns, please contact the Awards and Recognition Committee at [email protected].

Application forms will be available beginning May 13, 2023.